How many cups are a half a pound?

Generally speaking, one cup equals half a pound. However, this also depends on what and how you're measuring. Measuring by cups is measuring volume, and measuring by the pound is measuring weight. For example, a cup of feathers and a cup of flour do not both equal the same weight in pounds.