What was the biggest plane crash ever?

The Tenerife airport disaster. On March 27, 1977, two Boeing 747 passenger jets, operating KLM Flight 4805 and Pan Am Flight 1736, collided on the runway at Los Rodeos Airport on the Spanish island of Tenerife. Resulting in 583 fatalities, this crash is the deadliest in aviation history.