Why does an ostrich put his head in the sand?

According to kids.nationalgeographic.com, Ostriches don't bury their heads in the sand. But they do dig holes in the dirt to use as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, a bird puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it looks like the birds are burying their heads in the sand!