What is the retina in the eye?

The eye retina is the innermost light-sensitive layer of tissue. The neural retina consists of several layers of neurons interconnected by synapses, & is supported by an outer layer of colored epithelial cells. Light-sensing cells in the retina are photoreceptor cells of 2 types: rods & cones