Is there such thing as white tigers?

Since the gene for white fur is recessive in tigers, both parents must carry the gene in order to produce a white tiger cub. Since such matings are rare, white tigers are seldom seen in the wild. However, humans have learned to selectively breed white tigers from parents known to carry the gene.