What makes a pickle kosher?

A "kosher" dill pickle is not necessarily kosher in the sense that it has been prepared in accordance with Jewish dietary law. Today, its a pickle that’s produced by Jewish New York City pickle makers, by adding garlic and dill to natural salt brine