What year was the megalodon extinct?

Precisely when the last megalodon died is not known, but new evidence suggests that it was at least 3.6 million years ago.

---

Megalodon (Carcharocles megalodon), meaning "big tooth", is an extinct species of shark that lived approximately 23 to 3.6 million years ago, during the Early Miocene to the Pliocene.