How much water do you put in a hookah?

All hookahs are made differently and can hold different amounts of water. The optimal level of water is obtained when the downstem is submerged in one half to one inch of water.

---

The water level should be such that the tube attached to the pipe is submerged and the tube attached to the mouthpiece is above water. As such, the smoke will be pulled through the water before entering the mouth. Because hookahs are different sizes there is no single amount.