What is a carriage home?

What is a carriage house? Also known as a coach or remise house are commonly used as garages, apartments, storage sheds, or guesthouses now. They were outbuildings once used to house carriages & horses before cars were invented. Sometimes the coachman or caretaker lived on the upper floor.