Do moths eat plants?

Mature moths do not eat leaves because their mouth parts are not designed for chewing. They have a long proboscis that acts as a straw to pull nectar from deep flowers into the moth's body.

---

Moths eat many different things. A majority of the moths dine on leaves and flowers from plants. Some caterpillar moths feed on seeds, fruit, animal products like fur or beeswax. In contrast, the carnivorous ones consume aphids and other soft-bodied insects.