Where are kolaches from?

A kolach is a type of sweet pastry that holds a portion of fruit surrounded by puffy dough. It originated in Central Europe. The name comes from the Czech, and originally Old Slavonic word kolo meaning "circle", or "wheel". In the US, it's especially popular in Texas and Iowa