Where did the legend of santa claus come from?

The legend of Santa Clause originates from the custom of Saint Nicolas from Western Europe. It was brought to the U.S. with the immigrants and mixed with some other customs to create Santa Clause. The poem the night before Christmas and coca-cola played a huge part in the depiction of Santa Clause.