What are the ingredients in root beer?

There is no standard recipe for root beer. Common ingredients include filtered water, sugar, safrole free sassafras extract, vanilla, caramel, wintergreen, black cherry bark, licorice root, sarsaparilla root, nutmeg, acacia, anise, molasses, cinnamon, sweet birch and honey.