Is a turtle a reptile or an amphibian?

Reptiles are cold blooded animals with dry scaly skin that lay eggs. Amphibians are cold blooded animals with slimy skin that are born in water & change to live on land. Turtles have dry scaly skin & lay eggs, so they have to be reptiles.