What's a fire airplane?

A fire airplane, or airtanker is a fixed-wing aircraft that can carry fire retardant or water and drop it on or in front of a wildland fire to help slow the fire down. CAL FIRE in California uses Grum- man S-2T airtankers for fast initial attack delivery of fire retardant on wildland fires.