Do you cut meat against the grain?

From the kitchen.com. Yes, cutting against the meat grain is advisable. By cutting against the grain, you cut through the fibers and shorten them. This makes it easier to chew through, since a lot of the hard work of breaking up the muscle fibers has already been done for you.