What is the difference between a moth and a butterfly?

Few of the key differences are: Butterflies usually rest with their wings closed, while moths rest with their wings open. Butterflies have long, thin antenna, while moths have shorter feathery antennas. Butterflies generally gather food during the day while moths are seen more at nighttime.