What's the point of five nights at freddy's?

The Five Nights at Freddy's series puts you in the role of a security guard that keeps watch at night at a local pizza place. Your goal is to stay alive until the morning, and ultimately to survive five nights in a row at the pizza establishment. Hence the name.