What's the difference between a second cousin and a first cousin once removed?

First, second, and third cousins are defined by the number of generations that separate them from a common ancestor. Second cousins share a great grandparent. Once, twice, etc. removed refers to the generations separating cousins. First cousin once removed is the child or parent of your first cousin