How do burps work?

When you swallow air or eat certain foods a bubble develops in the stomach. Occasionally the sphincter at the top of the stomach will relax a bit and allow the gas to escape through the esophagus. If there is enough gas it may make a noticeable sound that differs depending on the mouth opening.