When was splendor discovered?

January 23, 2008 Researchers discover Maya mask splendor Ancient Mayan temple builders discovered and used lustrous pigments to make their buildings dazzle in the daylight.

---

The first known use of the word, splendor, meaning great brightness or luster, was in the 15th century. Great brightness has been with us since before humans existed. This was just a new English word for it.