What's the history of florida?

The first Native Americans began to inhabit the peninsula as early as 14,000 years ago. Artifacts and archeological evidence is documented. The Spanish explorer Juan Ponce de León arrived in Florida in 1513 and made the first textual records.

---

Florida's history can be divided into a few chapters: millenia until 1492 as the home of native American tribes; 1492 - 1763 under nominal Spanish control; 20 years of British control; 1783 - 1819 once again under Spain; 1819 the U.S. took control from Spain; Florida achieved statehood in 1845.