What is the meniscus in the human body?

According to The Mayo Clinic, “The meniscus is a C-Shaped piece of tough, rubbery cartilage that acts as a shock absorber between your shinbone and thighbone. It can be torn if you suddenly twist your knee while bearing weight on it.”