How often should you water carrots?

Carrots need about an inch of water per week when young, but as the roots mature, increase to 2 inches per week. The best way to know if you need to water is to stick your finger in the soil about an inch deep near the plants (but don't disturb the developing roots). If it's moist, no need to water.