What's the number one cause of housefires?

The number 1 most common cause for house fires is cooking, accounting for 42% of incidents.

---

The top cause of house fires is due to cooking equipment. Pots and pans can overheat and cause a fire very easily if the person cooking gets distracted and leaves the equipment unattended. Always stay in the room, or ask someone to watch your food, when cooking on hotplates.

---

Cooking fires rank as the number one cause of house fires in the United States, with the majority of incidents occurring when food is left unattended after cooking.

---

According to the National Fire Protection Association, the leading cause of home structure fires is cooking.