How does life exist?

Various forms of life exist, such as plants, animals, fungi, protists, archaea, and bacteria. ... One popular definition is that organisms are open systems that maintain homeostasis, are composed of cells, have a life cycle, undergo metabolism, can grow, adapt to their environment