What's a barrel?

I know of three types of barrels. A barrel is a large container for storing liquid or dry goods. A barrel is also a liquid measure such as, 42 gallons of oil, or 31 gallons of beer. A barrel can also be a tube for shooting a projectile, as in the barrel of a cannon.