Why do they call peanut butter peanut butter?

In 1884 Marcellus Gilmore Edson developed the idea of peanut paste as a delicious and nutritious foodstuff for people who couldn’t chew solid food. His cooled product had “a consistency like that of butter or lard “. He added sugar to make the butter more solid in consistency .