What are pillows filled with?

Traditional pillow material fill was down and feather. For the most part, synthetic polyester (either recycled or virgin) has replaced down and feather pillow materials as the most preferred pillow fill. This is because it is relatively inexpensive, can be washed and few people are allergic to it