Why do we have earthquakes?

Earthquakes are caused when rock underground suddenly breaks along a fault. This sudden release of energy causes the seismic waves that make the ground shake. When two blocks of rock or two plates are rubbing against each other, they stick a little. When the rocks break, the earthquake occurs.

---

Earthquakes are due to the movement of the Earth's tectonic plates