Where did the word scooch come from?

Scooch: S C O O C H (also S C O O T C H) is a VERB [NO OBJECT]. North American informal: 1) Crouch or squat. Also, 2) Move in or pass through a tight or narrow space. 2.1) Move a short distance, especially while seated. Origin: Mid 19th century origin unknown. Per Lexicon.com.