How long does it take for a hatchimal toy to hatch?

Make sure you rub your hands up and down along the sides of the egg. Be prepared for a long wait: It could be 25 minutes before the Hatchimal responds to your commands and begins hatching, and the hatching process itself could take up to 40 minutes.