What is a roman carnival?

The Roman Carnival is an ancient tradition that dates back to the Middle Ages, and is one of the most famous and popular events celebrated in Italy. It consisted of a large public celebration that lasted eight days, ending the night of Fat Tuesday, the day marking the beginning of Lent.