What is the ying yang symbol?

The ying yang taijitu symbol is a balanced black and white circle, looking similar to two fish. It symbolizes the duality of nature, for instance that light cannot exist without dark, or that good cannot exist without evil.

---

The yin-yang symbol consists of a circle divided into two halves by a curved line. One half of the circle is black, typically representing the yin side; the other is white, for the yang side. In Chinese philosophy, yin and yang is a concept of dualism, showing a balance between two opposites.