What is the purpose of a gyroscope?

A gyroscope is a device that uses Earth's gravity to help determine orientation. It consists of a freely-rotating disk called rotor, mounted onto a spinning axis in the center of a larger and more stable wheel. As the axis turns, rotor remains stationary to indicate central gravitational pull.