How many peppers are in a peck of peppers?

Peppers were often sold in a basket called a peck. A peck generally holds about 2 dozen Bell Peppers and is equal to eight dry quarts.

---

Well, a peck is a quarter of a bushel (1.25 cubic feet) so it holds about .41 cubic feet or about 700 cubic inches. An average pepper is about 22-24 cubic inches, so maybe 30-35 peppers. Of course, pickled peppers are softer so you might be able cram 45-50 in the peck basket. (You asked.)