What is an opera buffer?

Opera Buffa, meaning “comic opera” in Italian, is a genre of comic opera originating in Naples in the mid-18th century. It developed from the intermezzi, or interludes, performed between the acts of serious operas. Opera buffa is distinct from French opéra-bouffe or any light opera.