Why does the sun stay in place?

It depends on your reference. If you’re thinking about our solar system, the sun “stays put” because it is way more massive than all of the planets and they orbit about it according to the laws of gravity. But the sun is also moving in space and is orbiting the center of the Milky Way galaxy.