What do meal worms eat?

They will eat oatmeal , cornmeal and other grains crushed into meal such as wheat and milo. In the wild, they eat fungus, seeds, and decaying plants, but captive mealworms often eat dog or cat food, old cereal, chicken food, birdseed, flour, fruits, and vegetables.