When was the nether added to minecraft?

Inspired by the “Hell” world theme of the early Java Indev version of Minecraft, the Nether was added in the Halloween Update of 2010, it was a single repeating biome filled with ghasts, piglins, and blazes. fortresses would be added the next year, and no further changes came until v.1.16