Is a nut a legume?

Some nuts, like hazelnuts, walnuts, and almonds, are true tree nuts, composed of a seed surrounded by dry fruit and encased in a hard shell. The ubiquitous peanut is actually a legume. Legumes are the edible seeds from pods you can split in half. Legumes also include peas and lentils.