How do you cook brown rice on the stove?

Combine the rice, water salt, and butter (if using) in a medium saucepan and bring to a simmer, uncovered, over medium-high heat. Reduce the heat so that the rice stays at a low simmer, and cover the pot. Simmer without lifting the lid of the pot for 45 minutes.