What's the trick to cutting onions?

There are many tricks to try. Refrigerate the onion for 30 minutes before cutting. Use a very sharp knife. Put bread in your mouth to absorb the sulfuric compounds before they can reach your eyes. Don't cut the root off. Point the knife away from you. Try microwaving an uncut onion for 30 seconds.