What's the trick to cutting onions?

Cut Under Running Water. Instead of waiting for onions to soak in water, you can cut them in the sink under running water. This, I believe, works much like many of the other tricks, with the moving water redirecting much of the onion vapors away from your eyes. Tear and irritation level: Painless.