Is b. e. t. e. r. a. word?

In English, B-E-T-E-R is an archaic spelling of "better," and no longer considered correct; the proper modern spelling is B-E-T-T-E-R. Elsewhere, "beter" does have contemporary meanings in Afrikaans, Dutch, Swedish, and Turkish.