Why does the thunder roll?

The volume fluctuations of rolling thunder can be due to the zigzag and often forked shape of a bolt, differences in air density along the mostly vertical lightning channel and soundwaves bouncing off clouds – a combination of sound dulled and distorted by distance as well as echoes