How does a male bird fertilize an egg?

Instead, both male and female birds have what's known as a cloaca.When birds are feeling frisky, they rub their swollen cloacas together. The male's sperm, which has been stored in his cloaca, is deposited into the female's cloaca, where it travels up the chamber and eventually fertilizes an egg