How many years does it take to get a p. h. d.?

Typically a doctorate degree takes four years to complete, post-bachelor's degree. If you already hold a master's degree, you may be able to complete a doctorate in the same subject area with only three years of additional full-time study.

---

four years Typically a doctorate degree takes four years to complete, post-bachelor's degree. If you already hold a master's degree, you may be able to complete a doctorate in the same subject area with only three years of additional full-time study.