Why are tornadoes so hard to predict?

Many factors come into play. Just because conditions are favorable for tornadoes doesn’t mean they necessarily will form. Even if one does form it’s hard to know if it will be weak or dangerously strong. Most supercell storms, while powerful phenomena in and of themselves, never spawn a tornado.