What's the difference between a bar graph and a histogram?

The simple difference is that a bar chart compares categories of data, while a histogram compares numerical data in terms of frequency. Other differences are that histograms show no spaces between columns and can't logically be rearranged because the x axis consists of ordered numerical data.