Is thunder caused by lightning?

Thunder is the sound caused by lightning. Depending on the distance from and nature of the lightning, it can range from a sharp, loud crack to a long, low rumble.

---

Yes, lightning superheats the air causing it to expand very quickly creating a shockwave.